Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My Life in Paris
Publicité
My Life in Paris
Newsletter
7 abonnés
Archives
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 32 698
18 octobre 2013

The Big Move to France

After more than one year since my return to Los angeles, California, I finally made the big move back to France permanently. Over a week ago, I boarded a plane to Paris with my French boyfriend after a year of working in Los Angeles in order to replenish my depleted savings account and to put away money for my future endeavors abroad. I have to say, it was a very strange feeling when the plane took off from LAX and I watched my nativeland retreat gradually from my eyes. My brain had a hard time completely comprehending what was happening and taking in my decision to move to France permanently-- not because I was worried about my decision, but because of the normal loss of saying good-bye to something I had always known. As I watched the LA beaches, Topanga Canyon where I had hiked so many times and Palos Verdes fade away, I became a bit nostalgic I have to say. We also flew over the Grand Canyon, and as I watched this beautiful expression of nature pass by I knew it would be another year before I would visit this country again. There something very surreal about leaving your birthland permanently that can be hard to explain. It's a metamorphosis of sorts you go through as you let go of the old culture and incorporate the new. Even though I had already lived in Paris for about a year, I knew it would take my brain awhile to catch up to this life-changing event.

Luckily, after landing in Paris, I was quickly reminded of why I made my decision to move and the reasons why I love French culture so much. For example, my boyfriend's friend was kind enough to make the long drive to the airport to pick us up and then gladly helped us carry my 50lb bags up to our apartment on the second floor of our building despite being sick and having been in the ER just the night before. This impressed and reminded me of how strong and giving French friendships are and how they don't think twice to help a friend when they can.

In addition, on the way home from the airport, I was also reminded of all the small, practical cars and it made me smile. French people don't care so much about the kind of cars they drive, unlike in the United States where your car is a status symbol and a reflection of your identity. In France, a car is just what it is meant to be-- transportation. A way to get from point A to point B. The French are also very space conscious as their streets are much smaller than in the US, so small cars are very practical and useful. It's this simplicity and lack of concern with materialism that I began to remember about France and reminded me of my new home.

Looking out the windows of our apartment, I could also see the Sacré Coeur just a few minutes away. I looked at all the buildings, the small streets and beautiful architecture and felt very lucky. I realize many people dream of living in Paris at some point in their life or just being able to visit. But I think most people who dream of living in Paris or visiting are typically in love with the romantic idea of Paris that we see in the movies. While these notions are still very valid, I fell in love with France because of it's love of life and it's relationships. The way French people show their love, concern and support for one another and the way they enjoy each day. The simplicity of life and the focus on the quality of your interactions rather than the quantity of your material things. I was truly reminded of this by a simple gesture made by friends in our apartment building when I saw that our apartment manager and another friend in the building had hung up a picture of me and my boyfriend in the hallway outside our apartment. I had always admired the beautiful black and white photos of a few of the long-time occupants of the building that hung on the walls in the building, but never imagined I would one day be in one of them. They had printed the picture, framed it and hung it up as a surprise for me and as a way to welcome me back to France and to the apartment. It touched me very deeply to see this kind of gesture from my French "family" who had adopted me so quickly and with open arms and it made me feel a little bit more "at home."

And so, I begin my new life in my new "homeland" of France. I realize it won't always be easy of course as I re-adjust back to the fast-pace streets of Paris, the noise, the metro and the smell of urine, and also continue to learn the language, make new friends and start my own practice for the first time, but I will take it day by day. And in the meantime... I will enjoy some great food, beautiful sites and good company and my new "French way of life."

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité